Alabama Home Brewing Laws

Alabama-homebrewing-laws

Alabama Alcoholic Beverage Control Board
2715 Gunter Park Drive West
Montgomery, AL 36109
Phone: 334/271-3840
Fax: 334/277-2150

 

 Activity Is it Legal?
HomeBrewing Yes
Transporting HomeBrew Yes
ABV Cap 13.9%
Production Per Year 100-200 gallons

**Production per year is generally governed by the United States government at 100 gallons per adult per year, or up to 200 gallons per year if their are 2 adults of drinking age living in the residence.

 

Relevant Statues


Ala. Code §28-4-3
The laws against possession, transportation or delivery of prohibited liquors shall not apply to the possession of wine or cordial made from grapes or other fruit when the grapes or other fruit are grown by the person making the same for his own domestic use upon his own premises in this state and when such person keeps such wine or cordial for his own domestic use on his own premises in any quantity not exceeding five gallons for one family in 12 months.

2013 Act 204
(a) Notwithstanding any provisions to the contrary, a person who has not been convicted of a felony in Alabama or any other state or federal jurisdiction, and who is not prohibited by §28-1-5 , Code of Alabama 1975, from purchasing, consuming, possessing, or transporting alcoholic beverages due to age may produce at his or her legal residence beer, mead, cider, and table wine, as those terms are defined in §28-3-1 , Code of Alabama 1975, for personal use, in the amounts specified in this act, without payment of taxes or fees and without obtaining a license. The aggregate amount of the beer, mead, cider, and table wine permitted to be produced under this act, with respect to any legal residence, shall not exceed 15 gallons for each quarter of a calendar year. Further, there shall not be in any legal residence at any one time more than an aggregate amount of 15 gallons of beer, mead, cider, and table wine which has been produced under the authority of this act.

(b) Beer, mead, cider, or table wine produced under this act may not be sold or offered for sale.

(c) Beer, mead, cider, or table wine produced under this act may not be removed from the legal residence where it was produced, except in quantities no larger than 10 gallons, aggregate, for any one event, and to be transported for personal use at organized events of homebrew competitions and judgings licensed by the Alcoholic Beverage Control Board as a special events retail license under §28-3A-20, Code of Alabama 1975, provided that the license will not allow the purchase or sale of any alcoholic beverages when that license is used for this purpose. Organized events involving beer, mead, cider, or table wine produced for personal use may not be held on the premises of entities otherwise licensed under Title 28, Code of Alabama 1975.

(d) Nothing in this act permits the production of distilled liquors, for personal use or otherwise, or the use of distilled liquors or products in the production of beer, mead, cider, or table wine provided in this section.

(e) It shall be unlawful for any person less than 21 years of age to attempt to purchase, consume, possess, or transport beer, mead, cider, or table wine produced for personal use.

(f) It shall be unlawful for any person less than 21 years of age to attempt to purchase, possess, or transport any apparatus or equipment used to produce beer, mead, cider, or table wine. It shall be unlawful for any person, partnership, corporation, or other legal entity to sell, furnish, give away, or provide to any person less than 21 years of age any apparatus or equipment used to produce beer, mead, cider, or table wine.

(g) Nothing in this section permits the production of beer, mead, cider, or table wine in a dry municipality, as defined in Chapter 3 of Title 28, Code of Alabama 1975. Further, with the exception of wet municipalities, as defined in Chapter 3 of Title 28, Code of Alabama 1975, nothing in this section permits the production of beer, mead, cider, or table wine in a dry county as defined in Chapter 3 of Title 28, Code of Alabama 1975.

(h) The definitions contained in §28-3-1 of the Code of Alabama 1975, shall apply to this act.

(i) Any violation of this section shall be a Class B misdemeanor.

**While I strive to provide the most up to date and accurate information possible, the relevant statues I list here shouldn’t be considered a substitute for professional legal advice.

Straight 2 The Pint